OTTAWA – On Thursday, September 5, 2019, Deputy Governor Lawrence Schembri of the Bank of Canada will speak before the Halifax Chamber of Commerce and the Halifax Partnership. 

Topic

Economic Progress Report

Time

13:00 (Atlantic Time), 12:00 (Eastern Time)

Place

Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21
Kenneth C. Rowe Hall
1055 Marginal Road
Halifax, Nova Scotia

Lock-Up

At 10:15 (ET), journalists are invited to review copies of the speech, under embargo, at the Bank’s head office in Ottawa. Please use the Bank of Canada Museum entrance, located at 30 Bank Street (corner of Bank and Wellington), and bring photo ID.

For security reasons, journalists wishing to attend must confirm their presence by calling Media Relations at 613-782-8782 before noon (ET) on Wednesday, September 4, 2019. Those who have not registered will not be admitted to the lock-up.

The embargo will be lifted at 11:45 (ET).

Distribution

The Deputy Governor’s text will be available on the Bank’s website at 12:45 (AT), 11:45 (ET).

Media Availability

At approximately 14:00 (AT), 13:00 (ET), the Deputy Governor will be available to answer questions from the media in the Windsor Foundation Classroom.

Accredited journalists who wish to ask questions via teleconference must contact Media Relations at 613-782-8782 for dial-in information before noon (ET) on Wednesday, September 4, 2019.

Audience Q&A

There will be an audience Q&A period.

Webcast

Audio and video webcasts of the speech and media questions will be available.

Note

Those wishing to attend are asked to contact Emma Menchefski at 902-481-1239.

For more information, please contact Media Relations at 613-782-8782